Let’s talk about your book!

Simply fill out the form below to select a date & time for your no obligation consultation
to see if self-publishing with Outskirts Press is right for you.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Only a Soldier Understands: Book 5: Lessons I Learned in the Army

by Clay Lifto


Retail Price: $18.95

Buy 1-9 copies: $17.06 each save 10%
Buy 10 or more: $9.48 each save 50 %
Cost: $17.06
You save: 10%
Book Details: Scroll below for more information about this book, provided directly by the author.

Product description...

Lessons I Learned in the Army

Clay Lifto knows what it’s like to be a soldier – not the great hero, but an ordinary guy performing his duty, raising his family and trying to live the Christian life. In this 5th book in his series, Only A Soldier Understands, he becomes a bit reflective in his personal story as he shares some life lessons he learned as he enters the Army a second time. He branches out into a new phase of his military experience, past the Middle East, past Vietnam, and into the spy games of the European Cold War. As the chapters of Clay’s life continue, he shares amazing things that can happen in a soldier’s life when he makes a commitment. Not a lecture, not a Bible study, just a personal story of God’s grace. Clay explores not only the physical realities of deployment, but also the emotional and psychological growth and challenges that come from experiences ranging from finding the woman of his life to frustrations with civilian life to the relationship with his family back home to breaking up with his wife to surrendering to the truth about himself and his own life to getting into a job far over his head to finding his true calling in life. As Clay’s stories bring back memories of your own experience, each chapter ends with a reflection of a major lesson in life that he learned – maybe a lesson you could apply to your own personal journey in life. The Only a Soldier Understands series is for the new recruit, the career soldier, and the veteran. It’s for anyone who has served in the military—and they are great books to share with friends, to exchange stories and thoughts. You don’t even need to read this book in chronological order...the Table of Contents provides detailed guidance if you’d like to target a specific area of your career. And if you enjoy this book, go back and read Books 1, 2, 3, and 4 in the series, and look forward to new books by Clay Lifto, coming soon.

Product details...

Format: 5.5 x 8.5 Black & White Paperback, 149 pages
Publisher: Outskirts Press (Apr 24, 2015)
ISBN10: 1478754826
ISBN13: 9781478754824
Genre: RELIGION / Inspirational

Author Information...

Clay LiftoDr. Clay Lifto comes from a military family: he, his father, his three brothers, and now his son have all served in the Army. PTSD among his friends and family is a familiar and continuous experience for him. In his career, he has founded a property management company operating in three states, and established a college program focused on supervisory management. He holds an AA and BS in business management, a master’s in education, and a doctorate in pastoral leadership. Dr. Lifto also speaks four languages. He has served at Kirkwood College since 1982, where he is now Professor Emeritus of Marketing and Management. Since 1993, Dr. Lifto and his wife Ruth have been involved with missionary humanitarian projects in Ukraine, where they have been teaching, and helping to establish Family Centers for medical and dental care, clothing and food distribution, and post-prison counseling. In Fayetteville, North Carolina, they helped street people, especially vets, to find a better way to live.
Visit the author's webpage at
for more information.

Many author webpages include:
ebook editions
sample text
audio excerpts and videos

See what Outskirts Press authors are saying about their self-publishing experience