Book Details

Assassination Attempts Down Under to Bizarre Humiliation at Vatican

The Molina Curse is the sequel to Tainted Dish and the fifth book in the Charles Stone Travel/Mystery/Thriller series. The protagonist faces several assassination attempts and a life threatening encounter in Australia’s Outback. His dog, Daisy is reintroduced along with characters from previous stories. The reader will be reminded of our country’s history through walks on Boston’s Freedom Trail. The Molina Curse provides tantalizing moments “Down Under”, as well as aboard a cruise ship from Sydney to New Zealand, Tahiti, Fiji and Hawaii. A love affair is tested and Charles Stone’s life is in peril throughout until the curse is lifted by complying with mysterious forces within the Vatican. Stone’s final act of involvement with the dark side of the Papacy is one of the most bizarre in all works of fiction. Unfortunately The Molina Curse ends on a sad tragic note.


Book Excerpt

I never liked wearing a tuxedo, but tonight was Formal Night and proper dress was required for the Captain’s Dinner and Reception. My navy blue blazer and slacks suited me fine, but Jan insisted I wear something to go with the new dress she purchased in one of the onboard boutiques. I reluctantly agreed and had to rent what the chief called a “monkey suit”. I must admit we were a fine looking couple and drew attention when entering the Atrium Bar for our before dinner martini ritual. The base of the Champagne Tower was seen being built on the lower level. A thousand glasses would eventually rise up to the top level and wait for the initial cascading pour.


About the Author

Charles L. Fields

Charles L. Fields grew up surrounded by the seaside beauty of Rockport, Massachusetts and the artists who attempted to depict it. His varied and bizarre careers went from banana boat engineer to lobster dealer to chicken hatchery manager and include being an author, poet, sculptor and world traveler. These lifetime experiences enriched his published memoir, Many Lands Many Hearts and add realism and depth to his fictional writing. He is married and divides his time between Massachusetts and Arizona. This book follows Sentimental Me, Canyons of the Soul, Broken Spirit and Tainted Dish in the Charles Stone travel mystery series.

Also by Charles L. Fields

Many Lands Many Hearts
Sentimental Me
Canyons of the Soul
Broken Spirit
Tainted Dish
Dark as Dickens