Book Details

This is the continuing saga of the Winston family, which has been uprooted from their affluent lifestyle in New York City and is now living on a farm in Iowa. In Part I, the reader learned of the siblings’ divergent personalities as they coped with seemingly insurmountable obstacles and conflicts, both internally and politically as the Vietnam War rages on. None of the Winstons expected to share their father’s vision of making the farm succeed, but they have found themselves invested in their new home with loves and dreams of their own.

Part I ended with the first harvest, the culmination of their physical as well as emotional struggle. Now the Winston’s will need to call upon their newly acquired self-reliance as well as family unity to grapple with the tragedies and heartaches of the coming months. They learn that strength not only comes from within but also from the perpetual cycle of nature and the permanence of the land they have come to love.


About the Author

Sharon Traner

Sharon is a wife, mother of eight, grandmother, and a nurse who lives with her family in Milwaukee. However, she grew up on a farm in Iowa where her parents instilled in her the love of God and family and a reverence for the land, values which are central themes in her novels.

She and her husband, Mark, lived in Dubuque in the 1970’s and fell in love with the splendor and beauty of the upper Mississippi Valley. She wanted to write a novel which not only captures the power and majesty of the area but also depicts a chaotic time in American history when families struggled to deal with heartbreaking events while questioning long established beliefs. She hopes you enjoy her efforts.

Also by Sharon Traner

A Striving After Wind: Part I